L’Oréal Paris Infallible Total Cover Concealer Palette Review

Today I’m sharing my thoughts on the new concealer palette from L’Oréal which retails for £12.99 (but is currently reduced to £9.99 as an introductory offer and is on 3 for 2 with a free blending sponge when you buy 3 products at Boots (& Superdrug I believe) – that was confusing!).

So, what does it claim: it has 2 colour correcting creams, a green to combat redness and a purple to reduce dark circles and 3 beige concealers. They’re supposed to be lightweight enough to layer without becoming cakey and leave a smooth, even finish.

img_4224

img_4223

So let’s start with the colour correctors. They’re really pigmented and blend nicely into the skin, if you’re into colour correcting I can’t see you hating them. They provide pigmentation and definitely brighten and correct without leaving you looking like a green and lilac monster. I wouldn’t say they’re anything ground breaking, but if colour correcting is what you want they definitely do the job.

So what about the concealer? Firstly let’s address the shade range (or lack of), how can L’Oréal who are famous for their incredible True Match foundation which is supposed to match 98% of skin tones in the UK, think it’s okay to produce such a selective product. For me, the shades match really well they’re yellow toned, highly pigmented and very creamy, so if the shades match your skin tone then you might love these concealers. However I think you can find better and more higher coverage concealers in the drugstore such as the Maybelline Fit Me Concealer and the Collection Lasting Perfection. Also I feel like you’ll only get equal use out of all three concealer colours if you fake tan or get (and lose!) a natural tan really quickly, therefore I think your money would be better spent picking one concealer that actually matches your skin unless you fake tan/ tan regularly in which case a concealer palette may be the perfect solution for you.

However my problem comes from the layering of the two products. I find they separate and cake under the eyes and I’ve had to actually remove my whole base and start again as it’s caked and separated beyond repair. You definitely get less problems on the face in terms of caking, but I feel like that doesn’t make up for the fact I simply cannot get this to blend and set under the eyes.

If you want to try colour correcting and concealing in the drugstore I’d opt for the Collection concealer and try out some of the colour correcting bits from MUA as they have a cheaper range which might work better. Unfortunately this palette just didn’t work for me and I feel like there are cheaper products that will work much better in the drugstore.

Have you tried this palette, did it work for you?

Leave a Reply

