How to: Morning Serums & Creams

After sharing my cleansing routine I thought I’d share my  ‘morning serum and cream’ routine (I couldn’t think of a simpler way of wording that!) and my top tips for prepping the skin for makeup or just a makeup free day where you want to look and feel your best.

Hyaluronic Acid:

hyaluronic

I always prep my skin with a boost of hyaluronic acid in the morning – hyaluronic acid increases the hydration levels of your skin and therefore plays a large role in healing your skin. This means that any moisturising products you apply after hyaluronic acid are made more effective. I use the hyaluronic acid from The Ordinary which retails for £5.90 and you can pick it up from ASOS.

Zinc & Niacinamide:

niacinamide.png

The next ingredients I love to pop on my skin in the morning are zinc and niacinamide, also from The Ordinary which retails for £5 also available at ASOS. Zinc in the form of Gluconate or Sulphate is meant to heal blemishes and reduce inflammation, it also reduces androgenic hormonal effects on the skin that contribute towards breakouts. Niacinamide also has anti inflammatory properties that aid against breakouts. I’ve seen a real improvement in my skin since using this every morning and I haven’t had a medium/large sized spot since I started using this which I think shows its a success!

Moisturiser:

moist.jpg

For my moisturiser I’ve tried to avoid both shea butter and mineral oil as they are known for causing breakouts. I’ve recently been loving the First Aid Beauty Skin Rescue Daily Face Cream which leaves my skin feeling moisturised but not oily and it doesn’t seem to be causing any breakouts. I’d definitely recommend it if you’ve got oily or acne prone skin, but you might want something heavier for drier skins.

SPF:

alphaspf

SPF is the most important step in this part of my routine. I use the Alpha H Protection Plus Daily SPF50+ it’s tinted which ensures you apply it all over your face, but doesn’t provide any coverage so you don’t need to worry about it matching your skin colour. I always wear SPF even if I’m only leaving the house to walk the dog, SPF is nearly as important as getting dressed to me!

What are your favourite morning serums/moisturisers?

 

One thought on “How to: Morning Serums & Creams

Leave a Reply

