How To: Cleansing

Cleansing is one of the steps in my skincare routine that I have such a love hate relationship with. I love the feeling of a good cleanser, but sometimes I get a little lazy with it particularly after a long day when I just want to jump into bed. Here are my top product recommendations and tips for cleansing your skin.

Morning Cleanse:

balancing.jpg

For my morning cleanse I like something nourishing that will prep my skin for makeup application or just help to maintain my skins hydration throughout the day. My current favourite is the Alpha H Balancing Cleanser. It’s a thick cream that gently cleanses the skin without stripping it. I tend to squeeze out about a ‘thumb nail’ size amount then massage this over my face then splash a little water on my face and continue to massage then rinse it off and pat my face dry with a flannel. I like to keep this step pretty quick and simple as who can be bothered with a lengthy cleansing routine at 6am in the morning.

Makeup Removal:

emma hardie.jpg

I used to swear by micellar waters to remove my makeup – cheap and simple to use and I thought they did the job. However since switching to the Emma Hardie Moringa Cleansing Balm I now see that they really weren’t doing much for my skin. While micellar waters definitely remove the bulk of your makeup, they tended to leave my skin feeling stripped and in need of lots of moisturiser. Whereas the Emma Hardie balm leaves my skin feeling nourished yet completely makeup free. I think you can pick up a sample of this through the Feel Unique pick and mix service – that’s where I first tried this cleanser and I certainly think it’s worth trying if you don’t feel like micellar waters are cutting it for you.

Evening Cleanse:

triple.jpg

I seem to have a thing with Alpha H because I’m also currently loving their Triple Action Cleanser. It’s a gel cleanser that doesn’t foam which means it’s not drying on the skin. I also love that the pump only dispenses a small amount of product meaning that you don’t waste any and it will last you a long time. I like to spend a few minutes massaging this into my skin and really cleaning my skin – this has made a massive difference to my skin as it not only feels softer due to the aloe vera and cucumber but my breakouts have also reduced as it contains thyme which has antibacterial properties to help prevent breakouts and minimise oil.

What are your favourite cleansing products?

Leave a Reply

