Lie with Me by Sabine Durrant Review

I’m not going to lie, the cover was one of the main reasons I picked this book up. The lack of a proper blurb and the relatively good review rating on Amazon sealed the deal for me.

*no spoilers*

I won’t spoil you with too much about the plot – it follows the story of a man who has a slightly sketchy history and has been a little too involved in a murder, suicide and a rape. But the question is – is he really to blame? Or maybe the question should really be – who is to blame?

Honestly, as I was reading this book the first 100-200 pages seemed pretty pointless, the type of book you could read while lounging on a sun lounger and forgetting about the world. I picked it up and put it down within 10-15 minutes, and it dragged. However once I’d hit around the 200 page mark the pace picked up so dramatically and I didn’t put it down until I’d finished (it’s about 300 pages for reference). I can’t say I loved this style because I didn’t feel I actually enjoyed reading the first two thirds of the book, but once I reached the end I could appreciate the journey I’d been taken on. I wouldn’t let this put you off the book, but I wish the suspense had been drawn out a little longer – by the time I got most invested in the characters and the plot, it was all nearly over.

I’d definitely recommend this book if you like a crime/thriller but I’d be prepared to get through the first hundred or so pages feeling a little lost. I think the slightly slow start is worth it because the twist at the end is so satisfying I’m not too mad about the dragging at the beginning. I think it’s definitely worth it the twist you get in the final few pages.

Have you read any good books recently?

Leave a Reply

