The Trap by Melanie Raabe

*no spoilers*

I’d like to start by saying I’m definitely not a book reviewer, I don’t even have an English A-Level and honestly I can’t remember the last time I properly relaxed and read a book cover to cover. But this year I’m making a conscious effort to read more and this was the first book I landed on.

It’s the story of a woman who thinks she knows who killed her sister, in fact she saw him, running away from the scene of the crime. The next time she sees his face is on TV, he’s a reporter. She watches his report on TV from the safety of her own home, where she’s stayed for 12 years (if my memory serves me correctly!). She then decides to write a book, detailing the murder, and then offers only one interview, to the man she thinks murdered her sister.

I won’t ruin the book for you, so I don’t want to go any further. The plot is definitely intense at times and I must admit I stayed up till about 2am to finish it – which is always a sign of a good book! There were times though throughout where I felt a little angry – like some of the plot felt too fabricated – why would anyone arrange an interview with a murderer? And other basic concerns like that! But I loved the beginning – even just the first few pages surrounding the main characters mental state which I think was so beautifully written.

Overall I don’t think I’d read this book again – lacking in some realistic elements and I prefer something a bit more real yet dramatic. I’ll probably never be fully satisfied with the ending of a book! I’d definitely recommend it if you’re looking for a ‘not too dramatic’ thriller but still has the power to keep you up till 3am to find out what happens!

Are you reading any good books at the moment?

Leave a Reply

