The Ordinary Skincare

The Ordinary is part of the Deciem brand which is an umbrella brand for many different brands such as Niod, Hylamide, Stemm and many more. The biggest selling point for me was the price – all of the products I picked up retail for under £10 which makes them an incredibly affordable addition to your skincare routine.

The first item I had to pick up was the Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5 it retails for £5.90 for 30ml. If you’re familiar with the concept behind the famous Hydraluron this product has the same active ingredient – hyaluronic acid, but it’s more concentrated and a much lower price. I have completely fallen in love with this product, it feels very similar to Hydraluron, it makes my skin more hydrated without feeling oily or sticky as it sinks into the skin really quickly. I use 2-3 drops both morning and evening  and have found my skin to be much less oily as I find I’m needing to use less moisturiser to achieve the same level of hydration.

I also picked up the Niacinamide 10% and Zinc 1% which retails for £5 for 30ml. I really like using zinc on my blemish prone skin, I usually use La Roche Posays Serozinc however I have found that this serum has replaced that step in my skincare routine. I’ve seen a noticeable difference in my skin since using this and my blemishes have definitely calmed down. I can’t say I’m completely blemish free, but I’m hoping that after a couple of more weeks my skin will be much clearer. Niacinamide is also shown to reduce sebum production and has anti-inflammatory qualities. Overall I’ve seen clear improvements in my skin since using this and will definitely continue to use this over the coming months.

The last product I’ve tried out was the Advanced Retinoid 2% which retails for £8 for 30ml. Having never used a retinoid product before I didn’t really know what to expect. I’ve been using this every couple of nights, just a few drops all over the face. I feel my skin looks smoother and plumper but I’m yet to see major results with this product, but I’ll keep you updated.

I also picked up the Alpha Arbutin 2% + HA which retails for £7 for 30ml but I am yet to try this. It is aimed at reducing spots and hyper-pigmentation and the hyaluronic acid is meant to improve the effects of the alpha arbutin. I want to see the effects of the Niacinamide 10% and Zinc 1% first before using this as I feel like hyper-pigmentation isn’t a major problem for me. But I’m excited to see how this works in the next few months.

 

Have you tried anything from The Ordinary?

 

2 thoughts on “The Ordinary Skincare

Leave a Reply

